Wasting Time Focusing On ‘Things’

“Upon reflection, it seems that many Christians regard salvation, evangelism, peace, power, holiness, joy, service, church practice, ministry, and doctrine as simply divine “things,” all detached from the living person of Christ and made something in and of themselves. But God never gives us spiritual things. He never gives us virtues, gifts, graces, and truths to acquire. Instead, He only gives us His Son. He gives us Christ to be all things for us. Consequently, Jesus Christ is the embodiment of all spiritual things. He is the substance of all divine realities.”

– Pg 302 ” Book – From Eternity To Here, by Frank Viola”

I am currently tracking many people who are pursuing ‘good things’ – that is they strive toward perfection, greatness and achieve much by world standards. I have come to the conclusion we could spend a lifetime striving toward these things and gain greater knowledge and power in the process, never actually getting closer to God. I was challenged by Franks statement, it made me realise that I was still pursuing the ‘fruits of my creator and not the creator himself’.

People, having innovation, discipline and virtues are good, but if we seek for these things and don’t derive them from Christ himself then they will fade away like everything else in this world.

To put it plainly, if we live a Christ-centred life (derive our living water and bread from Him) we will notice an abundance of these ‘things’ coming forth from our lives, and they will be eternal character traits of our creator and wont perish fade away like everything we try to create.

Jesus Christ is; hope (1 Tim. 1:1) peace (Eph. 2:14) wisdom (1 Cor. 1:30) redemption (1 Cot. 1:30) holiness (1 Cor. 1:30) righteousness (I Cor. 1:30). 

Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

life-is

 

Leave a Reply

