Personal Faith In Christ, Not Doubt and Fear – Mat 21

Let me get this straight, if I have faith in Christ and truely believe it, I could tell a fig tree to wither and it would be so… or I could even tell a mountain to get up and behave the way I commanded it?

Today I am pondering the faith I should have as a follower of Christ. Whenever I imagine or ponder faith, I always seem to doubt and fear the state of my life and I tend to reflect on how far I am from God.

While reading this story in Matthew I was reminded of the ‘boldness and eternal standing of Christ’ by the Holy Spirit who dwells in me. If I acknowledge my weaknesses and know sincerely that I can achieve anything through Christ who strengthens me, than the faith I require actually comes straight from Him (Christ Jesus). In my own strength I am nothing, but in Gods strength I can achieve anything. I know Christ and believe in the power of his death and resurrection, today I stand in a very different place. Where do you source your faith today? In-Christ or In-Your-Own-Strength?

“The disciples were amazed when they saw this and asked, “How did the fig tree wither so quickly?”

Then Jesus told them, “I tell you the truth, if you have faith and don’t doubt, you can do things like this and much more. You can even say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen.You can pray for anything, and if you have faith, you will receive it.”

– Mat 21:20-22

“The Spirit of God, who raised Jesus from the dead, lives in you. And just as God raised Christ Jesus from the dead, he will give life to your mortal bodies by this same Spirit living within you.”

– Rom 8:11

Christpower

Leave a Reply

