Reflecting on Worship – “In Spirit and In Truth”

Well its good to be back! It feels like its been too long since I have had time to sit down and share with you all.

“Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in the Spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.” – John 4:23-24

The Holy Spirit in me searched the meaning to this verse and I have discovered a depth to it that has brought conviction to my core. When I ponder the word ‘worship’, I usually think of a 1 hour session in church on a sunday.. or the latest hit just released by Hillsong. The fact that we have mixed ideas about ‘worship’, reflects on our diverse ways we seek Gods face and return to Him the Glory He deserves.

What if, our preconcieved ideas and perception of worship.. were all wrong? What if Gods Word says one thing and our default was the do the opposite..?

I was deeply challenged when I realised that worshiping God demands absolute Truth, a kind of ‘Spritual Truth’ that I had not considered before attempting any form of worship before. When I sat back and thought about the usual worship service on a sunday, or the quetimes I have been devoting to God, I realised that on many occassions I had NOT been absolutely Truthful and honest to Him. The Holy Spirit convicted me to be more truthful in my weakness, and not to be afraid to be seen needing Him.

Know that your default sinful nature says wants you to approach God in worship being full of shame, doubt and undeservingfear. If we realise that we are weak, be honest today when you chat to God and he will attend to your every need. Allow the Holy Spirit to identify where you have not been truthful, and allow Christ to minister to you in your weakness.

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me”. – 2 Corinithians 12:9

Honest

 

One thought on “Reflecting on Worship – “In Spirit and In Truth”

Leave a Reply

